I just noticed that my previous blog, written about 2 weeks ago, only got posted today, for some reason.  So, this may be premature, unless it too becomes delayed.  I intentionally put off writing until I learned more about my carb addiction.  I find that now that I have re-introduced small amounts of the refined carbs– flour, sugar, white rice, corn, potatoes, etc, that my craving for such foods has increased.  But, it is not the intense craving that would cause me to go out and binge on sweets.  Instead, I find myself justifying small amounts of chips here, some chocolate there, maybe some Ben and Jerry’s on occasion, and so on.  As a result, my appetite has increased and I am eating about 1700 calories/day instead of the 1200/day I had been eating to lose 80 lbs.  I am now plateaued here, so it is time to break the carb addiction and reduce my calorie intake some more.  I still have 50 lbs to lose.

So, as many of you surely know, addiction is not always an all/nothing proposition as it may be with nicotine, alcohol, opiates.  Apparently– for me, at least– carbohydrate addiction varies in degree.  And, as with most addictions, the amount I consume will gradually increase until I am back to where I was before…. UNLESS I keep an eye on it and prevent it from happening this way.  And, I certainly am.  As of today, I am stopping the chocolate, the chips, the occasional ice cream or other sweets, and keeping my daily carbohydrate intake down around 70-80 grams/day, from low-glycemic sources such as greens, non-starchy vegetables, and fruit.  I expect to be satisfied with 1000-1200 calories/day within 2-3 days of “being good”.  I’ll report on this in a few days.

About weightagency

After decades of struggle with my weight, countless diets, numerous books, lectures, and research, I have finally figured out how to lose weight and how to keep it off, in a HEALTHY way!

Leave a Reply

