My short term goal of 4 months was to lose 50 lbs.  It is a week short of 4 months and I have lost 51 lbs!  But, this is just the starting point.  My next goal is to lose 70 more pounds by the end of next Summer.  I am relaxing the aggressive rate from 3+ pounds/week to 2.  Not that I am any less serious, but at the rate I was going, my body was trying to fight me.  My resting heart rate went from about 75 to as low as 48– a 36% reduction!  My BMR has slowed to about 1700 calories/day, which means I should eat 700 calories/day in order to lose the 2 lbs week (2 lbs x 3500 cal/pound = 7000 calories/7 days or 1000 calories/day).  That is very difficult to maintain and still get enough nutrition, fiber, protein to be healthy.  So, forget 3.5 lbs/week, which would mean 3.5 x 3500/7 = 1225 calories/day.  Subtracted from my BMR of 1700 would mean a ridiculously low 475 calories/day.  NOW do you see why I need to ease up a bit?

Did all those calculation make your head spin?  Well, it’s pretty straightforward, especially if you let the Calorie3 spreadsheet help.  But, in essence, the BMR is the number of calories you need to maintain your weight.  Given that, and the fact that there are 3500 calories in a pound of fat, tells us to lose 1 pound, we need to reduce our calorie intake by 3500 calories.  If we spread that over a week– 7 days– 3500 calories/7 days = 500 calories/day.  So, simply subtract that number from your BMR and you will get how many calories you need to lose 1 pound in 1 week.  In my case, my BMR has dropped to 1700 calories/day so if I eat 1200 calories/day, I will lose 1 pound per week.  It’s all pretty straightforward without mystery.

But, as we lose weight, our bodies think we are starving and slow down to preserve calories, the opposite of what we want.  My BMR started around 3000 calories/day and dropped to the above 1700 in 4 months, making aggressive weight loss difficult.  While the Weight Agency Method curbs appetite and one CAN eat 475 calories/day without excessive hunger, it is not healthy.  So, I have two choices– I can relax my goal and lose weight more slowly OR I can increase my calorie output through exercise.  My favorite exercise is walking, but I have an arthritic hip which makes that painful and upper body exercise is not as effective at burning calories, so I am taking the path of least resistance.

The exciting thing about all this is how straightforward the Weight Agency Method really is.  Back on July 18, 2011– before I even sat down to write the book– I knew what my weight would be at this milestone.  Not only is the method reliable and predictable, but it curbs appetite and makes following it quite easy.  The first couple of weeks are difficult– no doubt about that– but after that, it is clear sailing.  You will know what foods you can eat and which ones make you hungry after.  You will know what the impact of your choices are and can adjust appropriately.

So, what is stopping you?  Do you want to maintain your sugar/flour addiction through the holidays?  Is that it?  OK.  But, I can tell you that once the addiction is broken, those irresistable holiday goodies become quite resistable after all and the thought of fitting into the clothes that have gathered dust in your closet for years makes it all the more easy to do.

Have fun meeting YOUR goals.  I have with mine and am continuing on.

About weightagency

After decades of struggle with my weight, countless diets, numerous books, lectures, and research, I have finally figured out how to lose weight and how to keep it off, in a HEALTHY way!

Leave a Reply

