Not that I had eaten a lot of salt, but apparently it was enough to mask my weight loss and give me the impression that I had not lost any weight in days.  After a pretty much salt-free day, I dropped another 2 lbs.  Amazing!

I knew that salt caused water retention, but I really didn’t have  a feel for how little salt meant how much water retention.  It is on the order of 2-4 lbs!  Well, when one is trying to lose 2 lbs/week or so, the effort can be completely masked by salt, often discouraging the person from trying.  But, with weight loss, patience is paramount.  Our weight fluctuates as much as 4 lbs in a day, so how can one monitor progress?  Add the 2 lbs of non-repeatability that most bathroom scales have and we can be 6 lbs different one day to the next– in other words, 2-3 weeks’ worth of dieting effort.

So, the only advice I can offer is track your calories compared with your BMR and know that you are losing fat even if the scale doesn’t show the loss right away.  Know in your heart that if you are eating 1000 calories/day and your BMR is 2500, then you are losing about 1/2 lb per day, regardless of what the scale says.  Believe in the calories!

About weightagency

After decades of struggle with my weight, countless diets, numerous books, lectures, and research, I have finally figured out how to lose weight and how to keep it off, in a HEALTHY way!

Leave a Reply

