Holy Moly!  How can that be?  I ate my normal 1200 calories and gained a pound.  And, I didn’t lose anything the day before that.  WTF?  Might as well give up, eh?

Well, I WOULD HAVE felt like that except for one thing– I have been tracking my calories with the Calories3 spreadsheet (see WeightAgency.com) and I KNOW that this has to be water gain.  How can I be so sure?  Because I am still weighing my food, then looking it up on the http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp/search/ database and recording calories, protein, and carbohydrates and entering the data into the Calories3 spreadsheet.

Why record protein and carbs?  Calories make sense, but protein and carbohydrates???   Many people, especially when initially embarking on a radical diet, over-do it and do not eat sufficient protein.  If that happens, along with radically-reduced calories, the body consumes itself!  Yup!  You digest muscle!  Your body things it is starving and shuts down, and when that is not enough, it consumes itself.  You lose weight, but you get weak.  And, remember that the heart is a major muscle– if it goes, YOU go next.

Experts say that we should eat 0.8gram of protein for every kilogram we weigh.  I should be eating 91 grams of protein, so entering that into the spreadsheet assures me that the weight loss is not muscle, but fat.  (Aside:  Shouldn’t ‘FAT’ be a 4-letter word?  I propose we change it to FATT).  Anyway, silliness aside, I record carbohydrates to assure that I don’t go crazy there and consume too much.  By keeping my carbohydrates down around 100-150 grams, I am assured that I have enough for quick energy, but also keep it low so my body makes up the difference by burning my stored fat from my belly and other places.  After about 3 days of eating insufficient carbohydrates, one’s body goes through a metabolic change where fat is burnt for energy.

So, my worries about that pound are over.  I KNOW I ate far less than I burned and that any such gain has to be water, likely from over-salting my food.  It will go away along with fat and I will remain steady at about 2.5 of fat burned/week, right on track.

About weightagency

After decades of struggle with my weight, countless diets, numerous books, lectures, and research, I have finally figured out how to lose weight and how to keep it off, in a HEALTHY way!

Leave a Reply

