Well, after yesterday’s strange breakfast, I had no lunch but a “normal” dinner of a steak and corn-on-the-cob.  I also picked a few prunes from the tree and ate them.

This morning’s breakfast was much more traditional for me.  I put a scoop of whey protein isolate into a bowl and mixed it with enough water to make a sort of syrup.  I then added fruit salad (fresh-picked blackberries, Costco grapes, strawberries, and blueberries), and coated the fruit with the whey protein, which is sweetened (I couldn’t get plain this time), and topped it with 2% cottage cheese.  It will hold me until dinner, which will be baked salmon and a veggie stir fry.

As you can see, aside from occasional experimentation, I am eating pretty much normal food and almost anything I want.  We did have guests last night and I drank water instead of wine because I had already exceeded my 1200-calorie quota for the day by 110.  I didn’t need another 150 calories/glass or 650 calories/bottle, which is easy to do at my size through the course of an evening with friends.  As I near my normal weight next year, I will be less strict, but for now, I want to continue at about 10 lbs/mo, as I have been doing, so I am doing very little cheating.

Prunes are ripening, pears and Asian pears are already harvested– the little trees only had about 6 fruit each; next year surely many more.  The apple tree is loaded and will be harvested in about a week, with lots of applesauce to be made as well as freezing some.  The prunes are a delight right now– egg shaped and sized fruit with a freestone pit.  It’s difficult to eat just one (~25 calories).

Are any of you harvesting any fruit now?  What?  And what part of the country?  (I am on Vancouver Island right now)

About weightagency

After decades of struggle with my weight, countless diets, numerous books, lectures, and research, I have finally figured out how to lose weight and how to keep it off, in a HEALTHY way!

Leave a Reply

