I tried something weird this morning for breakfast.  I cored a couple of apples and enlarged the cores to accommodate jalapenos.  I then sliced the apples containing the  jalapenos into about 3/8″ (1cm) slices and put them into a non-stick skillet sprayed with olive oil.  I sliced up a couple of low-fat turkey sausages and spread them over the apples.  As this was heating on medium heat, I added 4 cheddar cheese slices to cover the apples.  While this was going on, I whisked 4 eggs, about 1/4 cup milk (I used 4 TBSP skim milk powder and water) and added some onions, salt, pepper, and cayenne (OK, I am a chili pepper lover).  I then poured the egg mixture over the sausage, apples, cheese, jalapenos and let it cook, covered,  for about 15 minutes until the eggs were cooked.

I feared the worst, but it was quite good!  I split it into two portions, each being about 600 calories with 40 grams of protein and 32 grams of carbs.  It was big enough that it will last me until dinner time, though would normally be considered 4 servings, not 2.  The cheese melted and fried a bit at the bottom, the apples caramelized a bit and nicely augmented the sausage and cheese flavor.  The jalapenos and seasoning added a nice zing to the breakfast.

This sort of eating, devoid of high-glycemic index carbohydrates, has enabled me to lose more than 34 pounds in 2 months.  My appetite is under control and I won’t even be tempted to eat anything before dinner time.  I might get hungry at 4PM, but only mildly more so by 7PM when I will likely eat dinner.  I will continue to lose about 2.5 lbs/week this way without experiencing the ravenous hunger that most “diets” provide.  More importantly, I can continue this indefinitely, though it will be weird to be eating 1000 MORE calories/day once my weight stabilizes at the proper level.

See more information at WeightAgency.net

Bobbie

bobbie@WeightAgency.com

 

 

About weightagency

After decades of struggle with my weight, countless diets, numerous books, lectures, and research, I have finally figured out how to lose weight and how to keep it off, in a HEALTHY way!

One response »

  1. weightagency says:

    Two people wrote to me and suggested that I list the above breakfast as a recipe would, with bullet points for the ingredients, and more instructions. NO, NO, NO! This was NOT meant as advice or a recipe for you to follow. It was more of an insight to crazy food combinations I sometimes try to make cooking more fun. The ingredients above were all healthy, but their combination weird. I do NOT recommend it. It didn’t make us sick, nor did it taste bad, but it wasn’t real great either. I’ll try to be more clear in the future.

Leave a Reply

